Calm down dear…

100 Days of Writing – Day 5

I guess like most writers, ideas come and go and float around in my head pretty much the whole time. If I think it’s worth it, I’ll make a note of them but often they just fizzle away and are replaced by other, better ones.  Or that really annoying thing will happen where the best storyline in the world or an absolutely cracking character comes to me while I’m driving or just about to fall asleep and I tell myself to remember it so I can write it down in the morning/when I stop the car then invariably I end up kicking myself when I remember I have the worst short-term memory in the universe.  Which is about the only thing I do remember.

This week, because I’ve been particularly productive, my brain has gone into overdrive. When I woke up this morning the inside of my head felt like Piccadilly Circus.  Just a huge disorganised mash-up of ideas, plots, scenes for the book I’m writing, characters, new books, all manner of this, that and the other.  I was frantic to get it all down and in some semblance of order before it all disappeared into thin air.  But it was all too much, I didn’t know where to start.

And then Mr H reminded me about Headspace.

Of course.

I didn’t need to get all these crazy ideas down at all. What I needed was to calm my crazy brain down. Give it a bit of downtime. I’m talking meditation, mindfulness. A bit of Ommmmmm time.

If you’re new to meditation, I can highly recommend the Headspace app.  It’s the easiest thing ever.  You plug yourself in and let the lovely man (Andy Puddicombe if you must know, he’s the founder) guide you through a very relaxing and calming ten minutes of…doing absolutely bugger all. But doing bugger all very MINDFULLY.  Here I am doing bugger all and my legs are doing bugger all and my feet are doing bugger all…etc etc.

And it worked a treat.  I did my ten minutes and afterwards was able to sit at my desk with renewed poise, all zen and that, and I met my daily objective with flying colours: the first draft of Book Two contains more words today than it did yesterday. Boom.

writers-brain

Leave a Reply

